[review] Idaho – Emily Ruskovich

Ruskovich’s prose is elegiac; exquisite and affecting. ‘Idaho’ is a novel for fans of Sarah Perry and Susannah Kaysen.

Advertisements

what to read: the *slump buster* edition

“The house kept its own time, like the old-fashioned grandfather clock in the living room. People who happened by raised the weights, and as long as the weights were wound, the clock continued ticking away. But with people gone and the weights unattended, whole chunks of time were left to collect in deposits of faded life on the floor.”